Bonsai forum

Elm Parvifolia - blunt cut trunk and sparse canopy

• jacobplopo
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

Elm Parvifolia - blunt cut trunk and sparse canopy was created by jacobplopo

Posted 7 years 2 months ago #29527
I purchased a Parfivolia elm bonsai for my girlfriend because they apparently are one of few bonsai trees that do ok indoors. I'm new to bonsai and have many questions. This tree is just a commercially grown thing to look nice but i do not believe its high quality, and i'm in the progress of trying to make my own from willow cuttings to keep outdoors.

My main problems are this -

When do I prune and how do I prune to get a denser canopy? This tree lives indoors by a window.

There is a blunt cut on the trunk which barely hides behind the canopy. Can I change this? Carve it or cut it to stimulate new growth or at least mask the blunt cut so it looks more natural in any way? I don't know... I was thinking maybe if I could thicken the canopy it could then be hidden, however it annoys me that you can see the blatant handy work of the "artist". The cut is at the top of the trunk, and is healed up flat. The tree is 9 years old.

Thanks for any answers. It's in her flat ATM so I will try and Snap a picture when I'm there next.

oh yeah and Also, I don't know how often I need to prune this tree or when. There is also a branch on the trunk below the main canopy which I don't really like... And a few stubs where others have been cut off. Should I cut it off? If so, when? I'm going to buy a book on this but appreciate any advice! its 9 years old.
by jacobplopo

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• m5eaygeoff
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 855

Replied by m5eaygeoff on topic Elm Parvifolia - blunt cut trunk and sparse canopy

Posted 7 years 2 months ago #29528