Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Acer Little Princess - fatten trunk 7 years 11 months ago #20701

• Mercnik
  • Mercnik's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
Hi,

I am very new in bonsai world. Actually I never had or made bonsai before, but I would like to try and start learning about it.

In local tree nursery shop I found beautiful Acer (Little Princess). It is about 10 years old tree in plastic pot (not grown for become a bonsai). It has about 5 cm thick trunk and its about 60 cm high. On my opinion it is to high, and the trunk its to thin.

My question is:
May I cut almost all the brunches off, and leave only one, to start thickening the trunk? Next year cut it a little higher... Will I fatally damage the tree if I cut about 80% of brunches off? The tree already has all the leaves and it seams like its in good condition.
I really do not want to kill this tree the first year I bought it :)

If it helps, I can stick some pictures of my Acer. I would be very happy to get some suggestions what to do with it.

Thank you for your kind answers.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Acer Little Princess - fatten trunk 7 years 11 months ago #20704

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

May I cut almost all the brunches off, and leave only one, to start thickening the trunk?

Read this:
www.bonsaiempire.com/blog/bonsai-trunk-creation - especially the first line after "How to make great trunks"

Acer Little Princess - fatten trunk 7 years 11 months ago #20705

• Samantha
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 151
yes read what Auk said,

let's see some pictures, see if there's anything to trim

Acer Little Princess - fatten trunk 7 years 11 months ago #20713

• Mercnik
Thank you for link. I was asking about "cut-and-grow", but I do not know if Acer is suitable and in my case, I can not find leader brunch (see attached picture).