Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Use of wooden pots for Bonsai trees 7 years 3 months ago #28621

• Turnedandburned
  • Turnedandburned's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
I am completely new to the world of Bonsai. I have a client that wants to buy some of my homemade bowls to put a Bonsai trees in. I normally only put a walnut oil finish on my work but that would not be waterproof.. Does anyone know what I could seal the inside of wooden bowls with which would protect the wood without harming the trees? Now that I look at the trees, I think I want to get one for myself because they go good with the fractal burning patterns on my bowls/pots.
Thanks so much

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Use of wooden pots for Bonsai trees 7 years 3 months ago #28623

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3654
I like the pot.
I am not a fan of using wood as a pot. Inevitably it will be affected at some point. Once a crack starts in the seal, the wood is lost. I would say you can use a wood hardener first, and then a few coats of transparant lacquer (How do you spell that) that is normally used for staircases.. That is very durable. But I think that after a few years these would start to become soggy.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Turnedandburned

Use of wooden pots for Bonsai trees 7 years 3 months ago #28628

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791
Nice pot. Lichtenberg?

Use of wooden pots for Bonsai trees 7 years 3 months ago #28629

• Turnedandburned