Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Ficus Carica Training 11 years 1 month ago #8178

• BRJ
  • BRJ's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
Hi all,

I recently purchased a ficus carica tree for future use as a bonsai. I placed the tree in a training pot to give the trunk some thickness before re-potting as a bonsai. The tree is currently about 2.5 ft tall. Eventually, I would like to raise it as an informal upright.

As I am new to the training phase, I want to get your advice on the best way to proceed. Where is the best place to make a reduction? As you can see in the picture, the tree's trunk is straight for about 4 inches prior to a slight bend.

Also, when is the best time to make this (somewhat major) cutback, both in terms of the health of the tree as well as for maximum trunk thickness? As you can see, new leaves are beginning to form. Should I be concerned with leaving some green on the tree? Do you recommend a wound sealant?

Thanks for all of your feedback--I really appreciate it. Apologies for the poor contrast of the photo.

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

The following user(s) said Thank You: pieterbosch

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Ficus Carica Training 11 years 1 month ago #8182

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3653
How thiuck do you want the tree to be. If you want the trunk to grow bigger, don't cut it.

Ficus Carica Training 11 years 1 month ago #8185

• BRJ
Thanks Leatherback, I would like to double the diameter so I won't cut it for now. I have seen some excellent examples of this species as a bonsai (attached), so I am interested to see how it progresses.

Please let me know if you have any other tips for raising the tree apart from the usual watering / sunlight regiment.

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Ficus Carica Training 11 years 1 month ago #8188

• leatherback