Bonsai forum

TOPIC:

New to Bonsai 7 years 6 months ago #25243

• Organic Chris
  • Organic Chris's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hello. Thanks for looking. My name is Chris, from Long Island NY. I am new to the art of bonsai, and I would like to meet others who are professionals who I can learn from, and I would also like to know if there is any possibility of getting a hold of seeds to some Italian and Japanese varieties of pines and trees used in Bonsai. Especially the Italian Stone Pine.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New to Bonsai 7 years 6 months ago #25246

• BonsaiLearner
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 101
I wouldn't recommend growing from seed or cultivating pines as a beginner, as both may be too hard for you to do.
Try looking for a Bonsai club to join, as they are great places for beginners to learn and buy proper material to use.

www.longislandbonsai.org/

Ed

New to Bonsai 7 years 6 months ago #25259

• Organic Chris
I am in no way shape or form new to growing from seeds. I am a VERY experienced farmer and gardener. I have close to 4000 plants growing this season, and I propagate and save my own seeds for the next growing season. I stratify seeds as well. So, the reason I say I want to do them from seeds is because I love growing from seeds. Plus I get to watch the grow.
So, I AM new to bonsai, but I am NOT new to growing. lol.
Just wanted to clarify.

New to Bonsai 7 years 6 months ago #25260

• m5eaygeoff
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 850