Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Got Bit By Bonsai Bug....Help, I'm infected;)) 12 years 6 months ago #2125

• Thedogtrainer
  • Thedogtrainer's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
:P
So, My name is Karla, and I reside in Southeast Florida. I have always admired Bonsai from afar, but never had one.
Last year, I moved to a small loft over a warehouse, and started container gardening. About 6 months ago, I purchased a Bonsai for my Karate Instuctor for his birthday. I got one for myself as well.
In the meantime, I would see them on Craigslist, and would look at them admiringly....but never thought to get one.
Recently, a woman offered some trees for adoption(I am into dogs for a living, hence the word "adoption") within a mile of me...so I called and asked if I could visit. Wasn't sure that I would bring anything home, but just wanted to stop and chitchat.
Came home with a nice 10yr old Chinese Elm and a 5 yr old Juniper.
Now, let me backtrack a bit....at first I couldn't find anything that caught my eyes, so I thought I would shop for a juniper tree at Home Depot/Etc....start my own, from scratch....Figured "If I murder it, I didn't spend much....and it isn't someone else's hard work....Grin.
I finally found a tree at a nursery in east Delray Beach, on Dixie Highway(for anyone in this area who might be interested). Fellow there was very very nice.
So, now I have my Ficus tree(Sean), my chinese Elm(Tracy), Juniper(Raye) and my "disposable" juniper(Hugo).

Yep, I name my trees.....sorry....But, it's that silly woman thing that we women sometimes do!!!

So, Tracy(Chinese Elm) was shedding. At first I thought I had killed her....I hadn't watered her in about 9 days....But, then it dawned on me....Trees shed in the fall....Smack me in the head for being dense....

Keep in mind, gardening wasn't my thing as a kid.....not sure what happned.....But I am having a blast...