Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

First Time Bonsai Grower With Questions 4 years 2 months ago #56099

• Grimpond
  • Grimpond's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hello!

My wife purchased me a bonsai starter kit with seeds and pots and soil for Christmas. A few weeks ago I planted the Pinus Aristata seeds and I currently have a five day old sprout. I'm wondering: did I make a mistake planting the seed in the winter? I plan to keep the tree inside for now so I didn't think it mattered, but now I'm wondering if I've somehow confused the plant or interfered with it's natural rhythms by causing it to germinate out of season. I have the plant in a window, but it honestly doesn't get much sun there so I also have a small LED grow light that I've been keeping on for 8 hours a day that the tree seems to really like so far.

I'm completely new to this, so any advice on what to do now / next to care for my tree would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance for your time and assistance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

First Time Bonsai Grower With Questions 4 years 2 months ago #56101

• Tropfrog
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1351
Where are you and what is the climate like where you live?

There are no such thing as bonsai seeds. Bonsai is made from mature plants. Growing from seeds in smalll pots Will take 20 plus years before you can make bonsai our of it.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Grimpond

Last edit: Post by Tropfrog.

First Time Bonsai Grower With Questions 4 years 2 months ago #56102

• Grimpond
Thank you, yes, I do realize there is no such thing as "Bonsai seeds" and that the process of growing a tree from a seed to produce a Bonsai is a long one. Never the less, the seeds were sold in a "Bonsai starter kit" box.