Bonsai forum

TOPIC:

Dying Bonsai 2 years 8 months ago #71900

• Noctiluca
  • Noctiluca's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hello all! I am new here and sadly to say a bonsai murderer.

A couple of months ago I was gifted a Chinese elm bonsai. I have no experience with bonsai trees and sadly getting ill with COVID-19 and having to move out/move in a new place meant that I was a terrible mother to the poor tree and neglected its care.

At first the tree was thriving, growing new shoots and leaves. But I believe I overwatered it by falsly interpreting 'keeping the soil damp' as 'keeping the soil moist' . The tree soon started to lose leaves rapidly and now is bare. I let it dry out and checked the cambium which does not look green (picture attached).

Is there anything I can do to save it?? I am terribly sorry I let this happen and damaged this poor baby.

Thank you in advance,
A very guilty and clueless bonsai mother

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Dying Bonsai 2 years 8 months ago #71902

• Noctiluca

Dying Bonsai 2 years 8 months ago #71903

• Tropfrog
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1351
If you keep it indoors on one of them small plates and the floor under is still dry after watering you are not overwatering, but underwatering.

Best care for chinese elm is outside in a bright place all year. If you live in an area that gets prolonged period of less than -10 some protection may be needed. Coldframe, unheated greenhouse or a simple shed is good options. Never take it indoors as this species die indoors in most places.

Dying Bonsai 2 years 8 months ago #71904

• Noctiluca
Hello,

Thank you for replying.

I forgot to specify that it is an indoor bonsai, so I thought that it is actually to be kept indoors.