Bonsai forum

TOPIC:

Newbie from Wisconsin 9 years 10 months ago #11065

• Wisco Bonsai
  • Wisco Bonsai's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hello Everyone,

My name is Tim and I'm new to Bonsai Empire. Over the past few years I've grown in love with bonsai trees. I've owned 3 so far and had 2 of them die. All junipers. My goal is to keep the 3rd one alive so that's why I am here. Last October I received my a juniper tree for my birthday. I believe that it was actually already dying when I got it but no matter the reasons it died and I had it replaced for free. I got my new one and it looked really healthy when I got. Well in Wisconsin we had a horrific winter this year with temps dropping up to 35 below and 55 below with windshield. Many people said keep it outside for dormant. Well I guarantee that would have killed it. Anyway it has been an inside tree since then. About April it started budding and produced new needles which I thought was a great sign. However the older needles didn't seem as healthy as they could have looked. They had kind of a dry green whiteish look to them so I'd mist them hopefully it would help (almost daily). Well since then I've been worried about my tree and really am trying to do the best for it. I've taken the following steps to hopefully be successful.

1. I've changed the soil to a - pumice, soil, and lava rock mix that I received from Eastern Leaf for bonsai's. (I should of went for a acadama mix but I found out later about it after ordering)

2. I fertilize every two weeks with a 20-20-20 Water Soluble Fertilizer. By Southern Ag. PowerPak (The reason I went with this is that the original tree called for a 20-20-20 ratio so I bought it).

3. Today I moved my tree outside. I've been afraid/hesitant to do this because of bugs/insects. I moved it to our balcony (we live in an apt) which is on the west side of the building.

4. When I changed the soil I wired in the tree based on observing my YouTube videos.