Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

seeds & soil help 9 years 10 months ago #11188

• Kevin106
  • Kevin106's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hello all,

I'm very interested in bonsai and have decided to grow a few from seeds as my main hobby, however I'm still a newbie when it comes to growing plants (I'm getting there, learning slowly 1 by 1 :lol: ). I've done A LOT of researches on the particular trees that I'll be growing (they are prunus serrulata, acer rubrum, pinus thunbergii, and royal empress) and finally bought the seeds today. But there are still some info. that I wanted to ask you guys here for extra advises.

1. For the acer seeds, some online articles stated that it need to be soaked in water followed by 1 - 2 months chill period, some say just sow it straight into the pot. The instruction that came with the seeds also doesn't state any soaking or stratification, just plain sowing. What's the best method do you guys think I should use?

2. For stratification, some sources say to use moist paper towel while some prefers peat moss mixed with sharp sands. I plan on putting 50% of the seeds in paper towel and the other 50% in sand + peat moss mixture. Would that be fine to do? Plus, during the time in refrigerator, should I check back every week and keep the seeds moist by adding drops of water or just leave it be throughout the stratification period?

3. When planting the seeds, should I put each seed in its own pot or just sprinkle them with spaces in between inside a big pot? (I afraid I might damage the plant when re-potting them later on that's why.)

4. Potting soil: Do all trees when growing them as bonsai require specific well drained soil that's different from the regular soil? Like bonsai soil mix, should I use it to plant every type of tree or the potting mix from home depot will do just fine?

Any extra tips, tricks, advises are greatly appreciated. A big thank you in advance for everyone's help. :)