Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Chinese elm 9 years 3 months ago #14079

• Mattyhatch1
  • Mattyhatch1's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
Hi everyone,
I'm pretty new to bonsai, however I have a few trees. I recently purchased one from a bonsai nursary, and wishing about a week or so, the leaves started to get really hard, and crumbled when I touched them. They also went a very dull green. I have another Chinese elm (that I bought from Bunnings of all places) and its leaves are bright green and don't crumble when I pinch or touch them. I'm beginning to think that the woman sold me a dying tree.
Any thoughts on why the leaves are doing this? Any help will be appreciated! :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: Post by Mattyhatch1.

Chinese elm 9 years 3 months ago #14080

• m5eaygeoff
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 853
What country are you in? If you have it inside are you watering it and if so how? Sounds to me like it is dry, leaves will die if the tree is lacking in water. If the tree was in a cooler place and you took it to a much warmer place that will not help. This species is hardy and is best kept cold in winter. Mine are outside and at this moment the temp is just above freezing, and the still have leaves.
You need to check to see if it is dry with a chopstick, if it comes out clean then it needs water. Soak well and allow to drain. Then check every day and water when almost dry,
Geoff.

Chinese elm 9 years 3 months ago #14081

• Mattyhatch1
  • Mattyhatch1's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1