Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Beginner, Two Trees 9 years 2 weeks ago #15008

• GrimThePanda
  • GrimThePanda's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hello! This is my first time on the forum. I come seeking guidance. My elder sister just bought me a Bonsai Tree(I was unprepared and surprised) as I'd been wanting to try it for awhile. However, I didn't expect to begin until after uni, and I'm afraid I'll kill my tree. She also decided to buy herself one.

She wanted a Snow Rose that was being sold. I chose a Ginseng Ficus. According to it's papers, it's 10 years old and the recommended watering is every 4-6 days in Spring. The Snow Rose is 3 and it's watering is twice a week. The instructions say to submerge both trees in water up to 1/2" above the pot for about 5-10 minutes for both of them. We observed the seller doing so while we were browsing, and I'm inclined to think he knew what he was doing as he had some very old traditional juniper trees there.

Is this correct? I also want to know how to take care of the trees now that we have them - both pruning and shaping. The instructions say to pinch undesired growth off by hand(without scissors), and to use wire to shape it. I understand this, but probably my biggest fear is pruning them. I don't want to get it wrong and kill/permanently harm it, and I have no idea which parts to prune.

This image is hidden for guests.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Beginner, Two Trees 9 years 2 weeks ago #15009

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3654
Welcome to BE,

You have found yourself a very nice ficus starter. Much better than the average 'my first bonsai' we see on this forum.