TOPIC:

Ficus Benjamina 12 years 5 months ago #2312

• Leslie
  • Leslie's Avatar Topic Author
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 7
Hi All, :)

I am wondering if there is anyone who is experienced in wiring and pruning the Ficus Benjamina. I have a Ficus (Too Little) Benjamina, her name is *Jamina* :P , and she has been sprouting a lot of new leaves recently. I am aware that the Benjamina must be pruned carefully and gradually to prevent shock and die-back. I would like to begin working on "Jamina's" style with wiring and some pruning (if the timing is right) however, I'm not very experienced in this :unsure: . I've only pruned and wired one plant recently however, because the Benjamina is more *challenging* I would really appreciate any advice and suggestions you might have. :cheer:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Ficus Benjamina 12 years 5 months ago #2316

• manofthetrees
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 193
howdy leslie,
i have never herd that a benjimina is any tougher to work with than anty other ficus but i don't have one so what do i know :P .going on what i know of my retusa and nutrifolia if it is sprouting it is a good time for pruning.
starting out are you looking for smaller leaves and more branching? if yes totaly defoliate, it's scary i know but it will be fine, just remember cut the leaf stem between the leaf and branch so there is a stem left
now branches that you want longer you will want to leave the bud tip on the branch, pruning it will stop terminal growth but lead to more back budding.
it is also sooo much easier to wire after the leaves are gone. i start on the lower branches 1 or 2 at a time and get the main thick branches wired ,once the leaves are gone and the mains are wired i will move them into position and do the finer branch wiring