Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

New to bonsai, wondering when and if to repot? 7 years 2 months ago #29326

• CarlaMary
  • CarlaMary's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
I recently purchased two bonsai trees. I'm pretty sure they are a Juniper and a Hawaiian umbrella, but I'm no expert. It's winter by me, but spring is approaching, and I was wondering if I should re-pot my bonsai? I'm a little worried about the Juniper because his leaves have become a bit brittle and I'm worried the soil isn't draining properly. I've been sure to get them plenty of light and have been checking soil dampness before watering.

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New to bonsai, wondering when and if to repot? 7 years 2 months ago #29327

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

I recently purchased two bonsai trees. I'm pretty sure they are a Juniper and a Hawaiian umbrella

I'd say a juniper, mallsai, just a young plant and not a bonsai and a ficus, mallsai.
The brittle parts on the juniper are dead, the plant may be dying.

Species guidelines, including information when to repot, can be found under the Species guidelines, top of the page.

Junipers do NOT belong indoors.

Last edit: Post by Auk.

New to bonsai, wondering when and if to repot? 7 years 2 months ago #29328

• CarlaMary
Do you think I should put him outside? It's pretty cold by me.

New to bonsai, wondering when and if to repot? 7 years 2 months ago #29329

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3654

Do you think I should put him outside? It's pretty cold by me.

The juniper should never have been inside. Doesn't matter now. It is beyond rescue from what is visible on the picture.

New to bonsai, wondering when and if to repot? 7 years 2 months ago #29378

• Solaris
  • Thanks received: 16