Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Compact soil not draining! 7 years 7 months ago #24884

• Keefer
  • Keefer's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
I believe I watered my pro nana correctly, but I didn't account for the weather here. It's been gloomy and humid recently and unfortunately there hasn't been much sun. I'm new to bonsai and I'm afraid for my tree!

I poked some holes to the bottom of the pot and replaced the top layer of soil. Then out of pure concern and helplessness, I brought it inside and put it under a lamp as a way of drying the soil so that it's not so soggy. Advice?

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Compact soil not draining! 7 years 7 months ago #24885

• m5eaygeoff
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 853
Put it outside and don't worry about it. Rain is normal. If it that bad then tilt the pot slightly to allow water to drain, and then learn how to water.

Compact soil not draining! 7 years 7 months ago #24888

• Mimo
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 927
Leave it outside and don´t worry :)
Although junipers don´t like soggy substrate, it can handle it for a few days.
Or you can put it under some shelter outside.

Compact soil not draining! 7 years 7 months ago #24897

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

I poked some holes to the bottom of the pot and replaced the top layer of soil. Then out of pure concern and helplessness, I brought it inside and put it under a lamp as a way of drying the soil so that it's not so soggy. Advice?

Replacing the top layer was not a good idea, I think. Now the top soil won't be soggy, I guess, but you can't see if the soil under it is soggy now.