Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Various dug up material from backyard slop 2 years 11 months ago #68215

• nboisvert
  • nboisvert's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 4
Hey guys, I dug these specimens from my apartment's backyard slope. I think there is some really interesting material in here. Most of them are maple varieties I think, not quite sure.

This is my first attempt a dug-up material, do you have any recommendations to help them grow healthy? I'm aiming at growing them as bonsai so any advice towards that would be appreciated. I'm aware that they need to keep growing until the real work starts.

They are planted in a basic garden potting soil, nothing complicated here, all pots have drainage, water seems to be draining well and I'm fertilizing once a week.

Thanks!

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Various dug up material from backyard slop 2 years 11 months ago #68216

• Rorror
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 132
Most of the saplings you dug up, i would not have dug up. The one in the terracotta pot has some pottentional, but i would have directly cut it back to desired height. And leave those 2 shoots just above the bend.
Some of the small onces you can straight out, and plant them as a forrest together. Then you get some more space for more tree's. That solves also the problem that the pots keeping to much moist. Once a week watering might be to much. If you water because you want to firtilize, but it is still wet, you might want to firtilize with something else that you can put on/in your soil. For example i firtilize my pots with potting soil with cow mannure or some other non-liqued firtilizer. For the onces in good substrate, the frequency of watering is increased, then i use liqued firtilizer. In rainy periods i fill theabags for ontop of the substrate.