Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Oak tree from acorn - Tips for a first time beginner 1 year 10 months ago #76472

• ptiber
  • ptiber's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hello everybody,

It's my first day here, and very beginner wanna-be bonsai grower :whistle: :D
I'm a total noob in these parts, and have to learn to not fear hurting the trees for the greater good, I'm way too worried about that at the moment xD
I've been inspired by all of your posts and pictures to finally ask for help and try to learn from the masters ^^

So here's my first attempt: I've been growing this oak from an acorn (got it in a forest in the netherlands I believe?) in a pot on my balcony. It just went through its second winter, and has grown a new set of leaves in the last month (I'm in southern Sweden, so spring is a bit late here ^^).

Now I'd like to eventually turn this into something nice, preferably with a lot of nice branching. But as you can see, it's mainly one long main trunk, with a second branch at the bottom. It seems healthy as the leaves are nice, green and wide, so I'm not too worried about it, but it still lacks everything that can make it look like a proper tree instead of a spear :dry: :lol:

It's now 2 years-ish, and spring is here, so from what I gathered it would be a good time to start acting/pruning it? (correct me if I'm wrong, I might be completely wrong xD)
What would you guys do in terms of pruning and cutting things back, in order to promote branching?

It also has all these tiny branches along the main trunk that I believe are dead from last year, I suppose there's no harm at removing them?

In this second picture below you can see a close up from the top, which is kind of a mess with a mix of a couple of dead shoots (one inside the top part, and most of these tiny ones below) and 4 to 5 healthy ones but all bundled together, I'm afraid they're all going to wither eventually and only the main one will stay...