Bonsai forum

Looking For Seeds

• Organic Chris
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

Looking For Seeds was created by Organic Chris

Posted 7 years 6 months ago #27056
Hello. Name's Chris. I have recently gotten the desire to get into the art of Bonsai, after many years of admiring others' work. I started collecting seeds from my local towns of different species of pines, firs, mimosa, cedars, cypress, and a few maples. But, I am looking for some specific kinds of trees. The trees I most admire in Bonsai form are not found around here, aside from the Japanese Black Pines, and White pines, which are everywhere here on Long Island, NY. I am looking for Italian Stone Pines, Italian Cypress, Evergreen Cork Oak, European Olive, Ficus benjamina, Any type of Juniper really, but especially Japanese Junipers, Red Cedar, Dawn Redwood, and Sequoia. Now, I know most of these are not beginner Bonsai species. That is ok. I am a very quick learner, and I am an avid farmer and Gardener, and there is nothing that I can not germinate or sprout and keep alive. One of my favorite things to do is walk into stores and find trees and plants that are almost dead, buy them, and bring them back to life. I did this recently with a small juniper Bonsai I found at a local store. It was dry, and discolored, and some of the small branches had fallen off. But, after taking it home, trimming it a little bit, watering it, and adding in some bone meal powder to the substrate, the plant is now alive and well, green, and growing nicely. No more discoloration, nor dry dead branches.