Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

First Bonsai - Ficus Microcarpa - Less than $ 5 9 years 2 months ago #14283

• SimoneLogan
  • SimoneLogan's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hi everyone,

I'm Simone and I just started to explore the Bonsai world :).

I'd like to share with you some pictures of my first bonsai and have your feedback. I purchased this plant in a supermarket (don't laugh please) and it came with a very small pot. Today the pot fell and I decided to re-pot it (although i did not have another pot and I had to invent something).

Please note, I have no experience at all and just started to learn. Most of all I tried to spend as less as possible (in fact i literally spent less than € 5 :D)..so go easy on me with critics :D

Here are some details:

Plant: Ficus Microcarpa
Height: 4"
Price: € 1.99

Soil: I had a rosemary plant that died when I went on vacation so I used that soil and mixed it with
-dried leaves from other plants
-coco fiber soil

Pot: I used a plastic container that I had at home, one of those that are used to pack fruit or veggies (I know, I should change it with something adapt asap).

Moss: (here you can have a laugh) I had some moss on the balcony that fell down from the roof.

I didn't actually touched the foliage.

I think this is all. Check out the attached pictures and please do share your thoughts.

Looking forward for your feedbacks :)

Ps. I hope I didn't create the topic in wrong section of the forum.

Cheers!
Simone

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

First Bonsai - Ficus Microcarpa - Less than $ 5 9 years 2 months ago #14284

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

I'd like to share with you some pictures of my first bonsai

Your first disappointment:
This is not considered a bonsai. It is a house plant that is pretending to be a bonsai.