Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

"Mallsai" under grow light? Grafted ginseng ficus to real bonsai experiment 2 years 5 months ago #73157

• Bonton
  • Bonton's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hey everyone, I'm new to bonsai but I have lots of experience rescuing cacti and other plants that don't typically thrive in my region (southern CT, zone 7b). My fiance bought me a "mallsai" the other day and I'm determined to turn it into a "real" bonsai. It's a grafted ginseng ficus, has some excellent aerial roots. I'm going to repot it with 60% clay pellets, 40% bonsai mix and grow it in my growbox with 250W LED. Anyone have any luck doing this? It's an experiment for sure, but I saw a photo of a similar mallsai that grew into a real bonsai in full sun, outdoors in FL, so I'm thinking my grow box with humidity, stable temps and light 16 hours daily should do something positive. Thoughts/suggestions appreciated, thank you!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

"Mallsai" under grow light? Grafted ginseng ficus to real bonsai experiment 2 years 5 months ago #73159

• Albas
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 283
Hey Bonton, welcome to The Empire Forum...

I would say it's not easy to turn it on a propper Bonsai, but not impossible, maybe a little harder if indoors...
All my trees are outside, so I can't help you with indoors info.

I shared this picture on other topics as an example, this tree is also a Grafted Ginseng Ficus, hope it inspires you. :)

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

The following user(s) said Thank You: Bonton

"Mallsai" under grow light? Grafted ginseng ficus to real bonsai experiment 2 years 5 months ago #73164

• Bonton
Thank you for the welcome :) That's a beautiful example!

"Mallsai" under grow light? Grafted ginseng ficus to real bonsai experiment 2 years 5 months ago #73169

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member