Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Leaves changing color. Help! 6 years 3 months ago #36878

• jab3601
  • jab3601's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
I just got this Chinese elm bonsai for Christmas. I am new to the hobby. But since I got it I have been watering it everyday. I have placed it near my window in my bedroom. It isn’t really cold near the window but it is winter here in Kentucky and has been really cold recently. I also recently have pruned some of them shoots back from 7 leaves to like 3 or 4. I left a little shoot after the last leaf. I have been spray the leaves when I water the bonsai also. I came home just now from work and checked the soil and it feels moist under the moss am I over watering the bonsai? Is the sun burning the leaves!? Help I need tips! It has turned this yellow in about two days!

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Leaves changing color. Help! 6 years 2 months ago #36879

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3653
It is way too wet. Why water it everyday? Water when the soil is starting to dry out.
With all the decoration on top you cannot really see whether the plant needs water.. I would remove the stones & moss fromthe soil. Then oly water as the soil starts drying ut. Stop spraying the plant with water; It does not help.

Leaves changing color. Help! 6 years 2 months ago #36905

• jab3601
Thank you! I believe it is too wet but I probably won’t remove the rocks and moss till the plant starts doing better. I will just use a chop stick to check moisture. Any other tips?

Leaves changing color. Help! 6 years 2 months ago #36906

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

Thank you! I believe it is too wet but I probably won’t remove the rocks and moss till the plant starts doing better. I will just use a chop stick to check moisture. Any other tips?