Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Black spots on carmona; unsure of what to do :( 1 year 8 months ago #77585

• joonbugs
  • joonbugs's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hello! I'm very new to bonsai and I've had my fukien tea tree since about July 26th. Since then I've repotted it into a bonsai soil mix. It sits indoors on my nightstand and gets afternoon sun, I water when the soil is almost dry (pretty much 2-3 days) via bottom watering/submerging the pot in water up to the rim. She seems to be doing fine, except...

The last few days, I believe I have a fungus problem. I sprayed fungicide Saturday, July 30th due to seeing several leaves with both black, brown, and what looks like powdery mildew? But even though I sprayed, leaves keep popping up with black spots :( I've been removing any affected leaves I see, however, I decided to ask for help because it's starting to become a lot.

Here are some example leaves:

And here is the full tree for reference:

I don't know what I'm doing wrong. I haven't started using fertilizer yet because of this problem. I don't want to remove too many leaves anymore but I don't want the fungus to get an opportunity to spread. The black spots have been appearing on both old and new growth.

Could it be a root issue? Should I repot again? I read that the carmona's roots are very sensitive though... Is it a light issue; should I invest in a grow light? I don't know what I could be doing. Should I just wait and keep removing leaves, spraying fungicide as per instructions on the bottle? The tree has started looking sad because at this point, so many leaves have had to be removed...

Any help is much appreciated. Thank you in advance :(

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Black spots on carmona; unsure of what to do :( 1 year 8 months ago #77586

• Albas
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 291