Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Hawaiian Umbrella Tree 12 years 11 months ago #191

• babybirdsfunk
  • babybirdsfunk's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

I just got this tree in the mail today and was so excited, I pruned it before taking a picture(it looked just like it did on Amazon.com). One of the branches I meant to keep, came off and I attempted to side graft it to the trunk.

Since I didn't see this species posted on the forum yet, I decided to post it in hopes people could help me with suggestions throughout the growing process (I am relatively new to bonsai, any advice helps).

Your help is much appreciated!

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Hawaiian Umbrella Tree 12 years 8 months ago #619

• Leslie
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 7
Hi babybirdsfunk!

I am new to the art of Bonsai and recently joined the forum and I'm loving it! I just bought a mini Umbrella Tree ~ *Schefflera mini arboricola* just three days ago. It was sold as a regular house plant however, I'd like to try making it into a bonsai as I've read that they are suitable for this. Thanks for sharing such a great photo of yours after pruning...how are you making out with it?

I had a standard-sized Schefflera for many years and I found it quite easy to grow and responded well to being cut back...out of necessity I might add. LOL! I accidentally left it outside overnight during a heavy frost. The whole upper canopy was frozen however, it protected the lower parts. So...I just chopped it off below the damaged canopy and it sprouted new growth all down the remaining trunk and developed another lovely canopy. As long as this plant has bright, indirect light indoors it will do great. It also loves to be outside in the warm summer months as long as it is protected from direct sunlight...keep it in a shady spot.