Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Great oak 6 years 8 months ago #34713

• Pete1234
  • Pete1234's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
I'm a total beginner
I planted 4 acorns spring 2016 and they are all doing well I think, I've got them in normal compost from the garden centre, was wondering if anyone could tell me the right soil mix to use when I repot them next spring? Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: Post by Pete1234.

Great oak 6 years 8 months ago #34716

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

I'm a total beginner
I planted 4 acorns spring 2016 and they are all doing well I think, I've got them in normal compost from the garden centre, was wondering if anyone could tell me the right soil mix to use when I repot them next spring? Thanks

Just use normal good soil for oaks. They are seedlings, not bonsai, you do not need special soil.

Great oak 6 years 6 months ago #35450

• Jimjoeb
I live in Ottawa Canada and have started an oak from an acorn. It is currently on my front porch and very healthy. I plan to bring it indoors for the winter but I'm not sure when. Do I need to let it experience fall, i.e. leaves change colour and fall, before bringing it indoors?

Great oak 6 years 6 months ago #35451

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member

I live in Ottawa Canada and have started an oak from an acorn. It is currently on my front porch and very healthy. I plan to bring it indoors for the winter but I'm not sure when. Do I need to let it experience fall, i.e. leaves change colour and fall, before bringing it indoors?

Don't bring it indoors - unless when it is an unheated space.

Great oak 6 years 6 months ago #35452

• Jimjoeb
It's already in a pot. I don't think that it will survive outdoors. It will be -25 C here this winter. I expect that I will need to bring it indoors at some point, it's just when that I'm wondering about.

Great oak 6 years 6 months ago #35455

• Auk