Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Creating Bonsai from Nursery Stock? 6 years 9 months ago #33807

• Valkyrie2271
  • Valkyrie2271's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
I'm new to bonsai so this may be too early for me to be thinking about this, but I really like the idea of creating my own bonsai from rough nursery stock

I have some plastic bonsai pots of a few sizes, basic tools and pre-mixed bonsai soil (although it's mixed for evergreens) so I imagine I have what's necessary, but I'm not sure about the time of year. Is June too late to be doing something like that? And do you recommend trying it, despite being a novice?

Also, I read that removing all of a tree's original soil can be detrimental to its health, but wouldn't leaving it hinder water drainage?

(Sorry if I'm being a nuisance with my constant questions, but I think it's better to know for sure than to fumble and fail)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Creating Bonsai from Nursery Stock? 6 years 9 months ago #33809

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

I'm new to bonsai so this may be too early for me to be thinking about this, but I really like the idea of creating my own bonsai from rough nursery stock

I have some plastic bonsai pots of a few sizes, basic tools and pre-mixed bonsai soil

This is the first thing where you go wrong. When growing from nursery stock, you are not growing a bonsai. You are growing atree, from which you will create a pre-bonsai, from which you will grow a bonsai. If you want a decent bonsai, this is a process that takes many, many years.

Is June too late to be doing something like that? And do you recommend trying it, despite being a novice?

Depends on what you are planning to do. It is not the wrong time to acquire a future bonsai. It is the wrong time for many other things, like repotting and wiring.