Bonsai forum

Submissions for the trunk fusion competition
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Neli's entry. 11 years 4 months ago #7867

• Neli
  • Neli's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 6
Our summer just started, so I guess I will be a bit ahead.
I am a total newbie! Two month bonsai keeper. But watch out! I am trying to learn. He he he! And I am a very good gardener.
So watch out, if my sticks fuse at all, I am winning. (just joking!)
I have never done this before, but tomorrow I am going to go in the garden, Pick a bunch of sticks, arrange them, stick them in sand and there I go.
That is the african way to go! Climate here is good so everything You stick grows.
Wait for pictures.
The following user(s) said Thank You: pieterbosch

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Neli's entry. 11 years 1 month ago #8337

• Neli

I planted lots of cuttings of a ficus, but not sure if they are rooted yet...going to check them today.

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Last edit: Post by Neli.

Neli's entry. 11 years 4 weeks ago #8433

• Neli
I know I am already disqualified, due to the reason that I dont have deciduous material....but that is the advise I got here on the forum...and silly me never noticed the fine print...I just noticed it today...after I have rooted already my cuttings.
All the same I am in Africa...deciduous trees dont grow here...we dont have winter...and they need cold rest period...Some grow...but are always miserable.
So here is my ficus microcarpa green island. I could not wait for it to root properly so I dug it out from the packets...washed the soil...and lined them along a conical piece of wood. Tied them around with wire...and planted them in a packet with nice mixture of compost...manure , pine bark and sand.
covered on top with some river sand...the cuttings and some more well washed river sand up to the top.