Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Beginner buying tools 7 years 10 months ago #22335

• JoshSiegel
  • JoshSiegel's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
I'm a beginner to bonsai and I am getting twig shears and a concave cutter. Are there any good tool brands to buy and what is a good price range for them? Where should I get them from? On an unrelated note, are there any other uses for the twig shears and concave cutter? Are there any other vital tools I should get after?
Thanks for the help in advance.

~Josh

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Beginner buying tools 7 years 10 months ago #22340

• brkirkland22
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 128
Get a beginner's set, cheap as you can. Probably $150-$200 USD is reasonable. Stainless, plain steel - doesn't matter much. Stainless can be harder to sharpen. Plain steel rusts.. You'll probably ding them up in the beginning whichever you go.

Concave and knob cutters can do most anything you need - super handy. A proper bonsai wire cutter. Bonsai scissors are really good and strong, but any large pair with a sharp point (to get in tight spaces) will do if you need to save cash right now.

Jin pliers are nice, but I still use needle nose pliers for many things (wiring and Jin). The moss/pot knife? - butter knife works just as well. I actually don't use the rake very much these days, but handy. I prefer a strong chopstick or my fingers.
The following user(s) said Thank You: JoshSiegel

Beginner buying tools 7 years 10 months ago #22349

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3654
Instead of posting a long reply.. Here is one I wrote last year: www.growingbonsai.net/which-tools-do-i-need/