Bonsai forum

TOPIC:

Fertilizing young elm? 9 years 8 months ago #11737

• JohnnieWbl
  • JohnnieWbl's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
Hi all,

I'm new to bonsai with only youtube and some websites as my guides.. :) I've just planted what seems to me as a young elm (?) in a bonsai pot using a mixture of bonsai soil (already fertilized) and very small, sharp rock particles in about a 50/50 ratio.

I have ordered a bonsai fertilizer with an NPK of 7-5-6 and my question would be: is it a good idea to add a bit of it to this young tree or will the bonsai soil be enough for the next couple of months? Thanks!

Rick

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Fertilizing young elm? 9 years 8 months ago #11738

• bob
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 175
Not quite sure of elm, because of the look of the nodes. I would suggest to plant the little guy in the ground for a few years to widen the trunk and to give you more of a tree to work with. But if you wish to keep the guy in that pot then I would definitely say the "bonsai"soil would last a month or so. I could be wrong as I do not know what you mean, is the soil like a bonsai compost or does it have fertiliser pellets in, if you have the pellets, then they will definitely last 6months.

Good luck,hope this helped,

Jaimin ;)
The following user(s) said Thank You: JohnnieWbl

Last edit: Post by bob.

Fertilizing young elm? 9 years 8 months ago #11739

• JohnnieWbl
Thanks Jaimin..

I think I'll keep this one the pot, since I've got several (Oak, chestnut and willow) planted in the ground and I liked the idea of having something that at least looks like a bonsai, and also be able to keep it indoors (if he shows he doesn't like that very much I can always put him outside again.. ;) Just want him to do well in this pot for now.