Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

New chinese elm-need some help! 8 years 2 months ago #18241

• KelVarnsen
  • KelVarnsen's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hey guys,

As a complete beginner that is trying to do as much research as I can I would like to say this forum is a wonderful discovery.

I was given a 7 year old Chinese Elm as a gift some 3 weeks ago and I want to make sure that I take good care of it. However, in the last two weeks I have noticed that some leaves are browning/yellowing despite my submerging the pot once a week and misting the tree once a day. I have read that although bought to brighten up my bedroom this type of bonsai is not suitable to be kept indoors at all and I fear that both the store where it was bought and me (unwittingly) have conspired to keep the tree from its winter sleep/dormant period.(it is shedding leaves but I have noticed new buds and leaves beginning to grow)

I hoped that someone could give me some advice please? Should I take the tree from my bedroom and put the tree in my shed immediately? Should I feed the tree at all?(I have 2 bottles of Liquid bonsai tree feed and a large bag of Biogold Bonsai slow release fertilizer available to use) Should I alter my watering plan at all?

Many thanks in advance

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New chinese elm-need some help! 8 years 2 months ago #18243

• BonsaiLearner
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 101

submerging the pot once a week

While submerging the pot is good habit, you should not stick to a watering routine. rather, water the bonsai when it needs it
www.bonsaiempire.com/basics/bonsai-care/watering

this type of bonsai is not suitable to be kept indoors at all

Incorrect. keep it indoors (at least for winter);

www.bonsaiempire.com/tree-species/chinese-elm