Bonsai forum

New to this, need to choose a species!

• JakeFarrell
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

New to this, need to choose a species! was created by JakeFarrell

Posted 7 years 3 months ago #28792
Like I said, I'm new to this. I've been reading about the standard and recommended beginner species to use, but I wanted to locate a sapling come spring time in my area. My local area is Ottawa, Ontario. I've been doing research about the locally native species of trees, but am having a hard time finding information about what most of them are like as a candidate for my first bonsai project. If it helps, this is the province's web page cataloguing the species in my area.

www.ontario.ca/environment-and-energy/tr...ario-southeast/6E-12

Any information anyone might have would be awesome! Even if that information is that none of these are good candidates for a beginner, and I should just go buy something else a nursery. Thank you!
by JakeFarrell

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• brkirkland22
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 128

Replied by brkirkland22 on topic New to this, need to choose a species!

Posted 7 years 3 months ago #28794