Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Newbie 9 years 10 months ago #11227

• Gowing
  • Gowing's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hello all,

I'm a newbie to the site and a newbie to bonsai tress.

I'm Rob, I'm 27 years of age from the UK. I have horticulture qualifications where I was at college for 3 years. I have worked in garden centers and nurseries for 9 years.

Just joined the site after watching lots of the videos on YouTube, and starting my research on bonsai tress.

I would like to grow and getting into bonsai, If any one can give any advice or help it would be appreciated.

Any tips on tress?

Many Thanks
Rob

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Newbie 9 years 10 months ago #11231

• m5eaygeoff
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 853
Wecome. What country are you in?
You are in the perfect place to find material to start off with, look around the reduced plants, those with samll leaves like cotoneaster pyracantha etc are good. Acers of course are a favourite, but there are many other species to use. Buy a book, and if you can find a club near you join them. You will not only have expertise of the members but also acces to good material which most clube will have for sale to members.
Leave the videos until you have some hands on. There is no substitute for experience working on trees.
Geoff

Newbie 9 years 10 months ago #11232

• Gowing
Thanks Geoff,

I'm from England. It something i have alway wanted to do but didn't have the time.
Yesterday I was looking at the soils and how to make my own, so many different ways.
As to day is farther-day over hear I will go looking to day for a starter tree. Anything I should look out for. A good size, a thick truck, lots of stems?

Many Thanks

Last edit: Post by Gowing.

Newbie 9 years 10 months ago #11233

• m5eaygeoff
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member