Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Help choosing a bonsai 4 years 4 months ago #54809

• zante
  • zante's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
Hi everyone.
I have recently picked up an interest in bonsai and I am studying both the information on the internet and a couple of books I have bought.

Now I feel ready to start handling a plant, but... which plant?

Pines are obviously very tempting, but I get the feeling they're not ideal as a first tree.
Maybe a larch is a less challenging conifer?
A maple would is also attracting me, and they're not difficult to find.
Box I can find anywhere, but I'm not sure if it's a good choice for a newbie
Oak and honrbeam are easy to find in the wild, and I know where I can get one with permission of the land owner.

Then of course the other question: do I get a small tree from a nursery and I grow it from a small sapling os shall I start with something already partially formed?
Ina near nursery they have some interesting olive and oak as a started, but still crude bonsai, but I like the idea of growing it from a tiny plant.

So... yeah, I'm a bit confused on how to get started.

Obviously, as you can see from my selection, I'm looking at outside bonsai.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Help choosing a bonsai 4 years 4 months ago #54810

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

Pines are obviously very tempting, but I get the feeling they're not ideal as a first tree.

Agreed that a pine is not ideal for a beginner. I would probably not choose a larch either. If you want a conifer, I'd choose a juniper.

Oak and honrbeam are easy to find in the wild, and I know where I can get one with permission of the land owner.

Box would be a good choice. Oak is possible, not too hard to care for, but harder to grow a good bonsai from. From your list, I'd certainly pick hornbeam.