Bonsai forum

Pomegranate tree: when is it safe to wire? (Newbie question)

• Hobbes1
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

Pomegranate tree: when is it safe to wire? (Newbie question) was created by Hobbes1

Posted 3 years 3 months ago #64793
Hello. I recently received a bonsai tree as a gift and I'd like to train it in a certain way, if possible. I am completely new to bonsai and am reading a book on it as well as checking sources online.

When I got the tree, it was from a local nursery. Nearly all of the leaves fell off in the first couple days I had it, as it was stored out of sight for a few days to avoid ruining the surprise. Now, I have found a place inside that the tree seems to like and it is rapidly putting out new leaves (see attached picture).

My question: when should I feel safe in beginning to wire this tree? My goal would be, if possible, to have a strong, central trunk structure with little/no leaves branches until at least halfway up the tree. Then, have it trained to have a large grouping of branches and leaves at the upper portion of the tree. See the last two pictures, attached. I'm not sure if I should be wiring two or three of my tree branches/trunks together to try to form one larger trunk or if I need to prune back on branches to allow only one trunk to carry on. If pruning is the way, when would be the best time?

Thank you for any constructive advice. Cheers!
by Hobbes1

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Hobbes1
  • Offline Topic Author

Replied by Hobbes1 on topic Pomegranate tree: when is it safe to wire? (Newbie question)

Posted 3 years 3 months ago #64794
This is another photo of my tree. I tried to edit the original, but I got a 403 Forbidden error code.
This image is hidden for guests.
Last Edit:3 years 3 months ago by Hobbes1

This message has an attachment image.

Last edit: 3 years 3 months ago by Hobbes1.