Bonsai forum

giant sequoia bonsai

• bonsaiboy
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

giant sequoia bonsai was created by bonsaiboy

Posted 12 years 9 months ago #667
Hello: I have a 5yr old giant sequoia 42" tall in a large pot. Aside from Craig Coussins article there is very little information on how to bonsai these trees. I understand they can be a bit temperamental with moisture and all. Any information would be greatly appreaciated. I am not a beginner but no means am I an expert.

Thank you
Bonsaiboy
by bonsaiboy

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Leslie
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 7

Replied by Leslie on topic Re: giant sequoia bonsai

Posted 12 years 9 months ago #668
Hi bonsaiboy,

It's nice to meet you. I'm very new to Bonsai so I don't have any advice to share however, I just wanted to say "hi" and ask if might have a photo or three to share with us.

Leslie
by Leslie

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3654

Replied by leatherback on topic Re: giant sequoia bonsai

Posted 12 years 9 months ago #669
Hi Bonsai Boy,

I have no experience with Sequoia. But I do realize these are plants that are indeed somewhat temperamentfull. You may want to check with the owners of the sequoia website; they have an article on how they grow bonsai out of them:

www.giant-sequoia.com/about-us/large-bonsai-training-table/

J.
by leatherback

• bonsaiboy
  • Offline Topic Author

Replied by bonsaiboy on topic Re: giant sequoia bonsai

Posted 12 years 9 months ago #670
Thanks for your replies. Attached is a photo of the 5-year-old 42" giant sequoia.

This image is hidden for guests.
Please log in or register to see it.
by bonsaiboy

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

• Leslie
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member

Posted 12 years 9 months ago #674
Hi bonsaiboy,