Bonsai forum

TOPIC:

ID my tree: Serissa or Boxwood? 9 years 5 months ago #13385

• Zaqaree
  • Zaqaree's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
I'm new to this hobby and I'm trying to ID my bonsai, but I'm finding it hard to distinguish if it's a Serissa or a Boxwood. Being inexperienced, I don't know what its confirmatory characteristics are, like how potent is a displeasing smell, or if white borders on the leaves are present on all Serissa trees, or if both species produce flowers.
Any help is greatly appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

ID my tree: Serissa or Boxwood? 9 years 5 months ago #13386

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3654
if you post a few pics you will have the answer fairly quickly.

ID my tree: Serissa or Boxwood? 9 years 5 months ago #13387

• bob
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 175
If you crush the leaves of serissa they smell very pungent but as leatherback said a picture would be brilliant.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Zaqaree

Last edit: Post by bob.

ID my tree: Serissa or Boxwood? 9 years 5 months ago #13388

• alainleon1983
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 185

I'm new to this hobby and I'm trying to ID my bonsai, but I'm finding it hard to distinguish if it's a Serissa or a Boxwood.

Well, if you are fairly sure that your only two options are Serissa and Boxwood here are a few pics for you to identify them by yourself. The first two correspond to Serissa and the other two match the Boxwood. Hope it helps,

Alain

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

The following user(s) said Thank You: Zaqaree

Last edit: Post by alainleon1983.

ID my tree: Serissa or Boxwood? 9 years 5 months ago #13389

• Zaqaree