Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

SOIL MIX 9 years 1 week ago #15346

• subhaskarmakar
  • subhaskarmakar's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hi,
I am from Kolkata- India. I am new in this filed and I am trying to make my own bonsai soil. I read the soil preparations part and some comments also but still I have some question. Anybody plz help me to find this answer.
1. In the bonsai soil recipe can I use garden soil or plain soil to make bonsai soil. If yes the plz share the amount of this.
2. Can I use the soil mix direct or do I need to dry it before use.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

SOIL MIX 9 years 1 week ago #15355

• Nikola990
  • Thanks received: 3
" Basic or Organic Soil Mix

The basic soil mix for bonsai has, for many years been grit and peat, mixed to a ratio of around 50/50. The peat holds water and nutrients whilst the grit provides drainage and keeps the soil open. The peat used is moss peat rather than sedge peat, the grit, either flint grit or crushed granite. All ingredients should be sifted to remove particles smaller than 2mm.

There are other organic substitutes for peat; leaf mould and composted bark are sometimes used along with other peat substitutes. Farmyard manure, garden compost or garden soils should never be used as they are of questionable quality and frequently carry soil-borne diseases.

The standard mix for bonsai is 50/50 peat to grit, but when repotting Junipers, Pines and other species that require a free-draining mix, the percentage of grit should be increased to as much as 75/25. "

This is the easiest way I found on the net some time ago, and probably will do ok.
The following user(s) said Thank You: subhaskarmakar

SOIL MIX 9 years 1 week ago #15356

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791
Please add the source of the text:

torontobonsai.org/archive/Journal/Journa...03/apr.2003/soil.htm

I think you should not skip this part: