Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Newbie Questions 8 years 11 months ago #15756

• Neuk
  • Neuk's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
I am a complete bonsai newb but not a forum newb so will take the associated abuse...

I have been fascinated with bonsai's for a long time now but never really had the urge to get in to them. I am getting a little older, starting a family, looking at moving to a house, getting more patient, etc. I have started reading up on getting started but there are so many ways from starting with a seed, an already potted bonsai, a suitable tree transplanted, etc, etc.

I wanted to get an idea from experienced people what they recommend is the best way to start out so that I can learn as much as possible without risking too much. Starting from seed seems like a bad idea for a newb, for various reasons so I was thinking of getting an already potted bonsai or transplanting a suitable tree?

It is probably a good idea at this stage to mention that I currently live in a two bedroom flat which gets plenty of sunlight and is relatively warm in winter...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Newbie Questions 8 years 11 months ago #15757

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791
"Neuk"? Seriously? Guess it means something else in South African then in Dutch :)

Before I try to answer your question: what's your budget ?

Or wait, I forgot this bit:

I currently live in a two bedroom flat which gets plenty of sunlight and is relatively warm in winter..

Forget about it. Wait until you've moved to a house with a garden.

Last edit: Post by Auk.

Newbie Questions 8 years 11 months ago #15758

• Contrainer
  • Thanks received: 15
"Neuk" is a rather funny name to the Dutch, as Auk suggests :lol: