Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Starting my first new Bonsai challenge 9 years 7 months ago #12197

• ID@BONSAI
  • ID@BONSAI's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
I received a little starter kit to start growing my own little Black Monkey Tree. It is just so cool, I have always wanted to have a little bonsai and now I am going to grow one all by myself. I want to share this experience with everyone, so I will be posting updates everyday with everything that I have done. Please let me know if I am doing something wrong, I am just a beginner and any advise will be good advise, especially to get the seed to grow.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Starting my first new Bonsai challenge 9 years 7 months ago #12201

• m5eaygeoff
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 850
what is a black monkey? -If you are trying to grow something from seed then be prepared for a long wait.

Starting my first new Bonsai challenge 9 years 7 months ago #12202

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

I received a little starter kit to start growing my own little Black Monkey Tree. It is just so cool, I have always wanted to have a little bonsai and now I am going to grow one all by myself. I want to share this experience with everyone, so I will be posting updates everyday with everything that I have done. Please let me know if I am doing something wrong, I am just a beginner and any advise will be good advise, especially to get the seed to grow.

The first thing you did wrong is buying this 'grown your own bonsai' kit. Bonsai seeds do not exist, bonsai are created from real trees. You cannot grow a bonsai tree by putting seed in a small pot and expect a tiny tree grows out of it.
It will take years of growth, training and proper care before your seedling will develop into something that is useful as bonsai starting material.