Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Motorcycle Engine Pot 5 years 11 months ago #39006

• theautomaker
  • theautomaker's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
I was looking for a wider pot to plant this little guy.

Scoured my garage and found an old casing from a motorcycle engine that was replaced a couple years ago. I know it's going to fire up some traditionalists, but I love it as a temporary solution to widen roots.

Attachment not found

Here's the little guy. A $12 local nursery find that I wired about a month ago.

Attachment not found

The casing has a section under this sheet for excess oil drainage. I drilled some extra drainage holes, then replaced this sheet as a flat surface for the roots.

Attachment not found

Tied the wire to two bolts holding down the plate.

Attachment not found

Attachment not found

Here he is with some other trees.
(I am pretty new to bonsai. Let me know if you see anything weird in my line up. Always looking for advice.)

Attachment not found

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Motorcycle Engine Pot 5 years 11 months ago #39007

• spacewood
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 113
Now thats radical.
The following user(s) said Thank You: theautomaker

Motorcycle Engine Pot 5 years 11 months ago #39009

• Clicio
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1549
I like it.
But the plant...
Metal pots and hot roots can be a problem in the summer.

Motorcycle Engine Pot 5 years 11 months ago #39011

• alainleon1983
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 185

I was looking for a wider pot to plant this little guy.

Scoured my garage and found an old casing from a motorcycle engine that was replaced a couple years ago. I know it's going to fire up some traditionalists, but I love it as a temporary solution to widen roots.