• Page:

TOPIC:

Feeding Pomegranate in Winter? 2 years 5 months ago #73409

• Oyster Sauce
  • Oyster Sauce's Avatar Topic Author
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Thanks received: 0
I have been growing a pomegranate fusion bonsai from seeds for about 4 years now and it is going quite well. I live in northern Europe and so the pomegranate is outdoors most of the year and brought inside when the temperatures start getting crisp. That’s not been a problem but this year in particular it started growing profusely once I brought it indoors. My problem is that I am tempted to feed it … but should I? And what will happen to these new shoots if I feed or don’t feed?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Feeding Pomegranate in Winter? 2 years 5 months ago #73410

• m5eaygeoff
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 853
I would not add any fertiliser, you need to slow it down, mine stays outside all year, you need to put it in as cold a place as possible

Feeding Pomegranate in Winter? 2 years 5 months ago #73411

• Oyster Sauce
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
I think you're probably right about not feeding it but the pomegranate would not survive the winter up here without indoor protection. The occasional minus 10 or minus 12 degrees would cause its death for sure.

Feeding Pomegranate in Winter? 2 years 5 months ago #73412

• lucR
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 487

I think you're probably right about not feeding it but the pomegranate would not survive the winter up here without indoor protection. The occasional minus 10 or minus 12 degrees would cause its death for sure.

Yes, but indoor doesnt mean you bring your tree in your living quarters, which is lethal to trees ( too hot/dry....). Place it in a room/garden shed/garage where temps stay above freezing.

Feeding Pomegranate in Winter? 2 years 5 months ago #73413

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member