Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Growing new branches on spruce/pine? 3 years 3 months ago #64832

• mvximlvn
  • mvximlvn's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hi guys, I am fairly new to the world of Bonsai and am just really getting into it. One of my favourite trees is certainly a pine or spruce, however my knowledge on their growth and how it works is very very limited. Anyway, I've got one kind of specific question: Is there a way to grow new branches on either a spruce or pine tree. In order to practise pruning and that type of stuff a bit, I got a few little spruces from a nursery (so we're talking about nursery stock here) and a Japanese white pine. When looking at the tree, I realised that there were a lot of empty spaces on the trunk where I'd like to have so branches growing (on the spruce on the lower part of the trunk, on the pine much higher between the currently upright growing candle and the branches below) . Is there a technique that makes this possible, or stimulates the growth of new buds or candles on the trunk? Also, I noticed that there are a lot of needles on the spruces specifically. Are those needles that could potentially turn into branches later? As I mentioned, I don't have that much of a clue about evergreens. Also, I'd just love to get whatever nice tips about growing, pruning and repotting spruces and pines you have. I truly appreciate every single answer I could get. I hope you're having a good one! Cheers.

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Growing new branches on spruce/pine? 3 years 3 months ago #64841

• Tropfrog
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1352
I dont have experience in your specific species and climate. But in my experience many spruces and pines backbud qite easily on wood up to 15 sometimes even 20 years old. But I know that it can differ a lot.