Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Moss and Roots 4 years 10 months ago #50436

• thetreeman47
  • thetreeman47's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hello everyone!
I’m new to the bonsai world, but I got my first Chinese Elm (claimed to be 7 years old) in January and I love it!
I have been trimming and shaping with rubber bands as an alternative to wires.
I am now pondering what to do with the base of my tree. I was wondering peoples opinions of adding a moss layer to the soil? And also curious about how to start getting those raised roots to poke through the soil.

Thanks everybody!
-thetreeman47

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: Post by thetreeman47.

Moss and Roots 4 years 10 months ago #50437

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791
This looks surprisingly much like my mallsai. Same ugly 45 degrees bend. I wonder who came up with this S-shape design and why it is copied so much. I guess people like it and think bonsai are supposed to look that way.

Are you keeping it indoors? Then forget about the moss.

Moss and Roots 4 years 10 months ago #50444

• lucR
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 487

Are you keeping it indoors? Then forget about the moss.

... and the entire tree sooner or later...

Moss and Roots 4 years 10 months ago #50446

• Clicio
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1549
hello, welcome!
Yes, a moss layer helps keep moisture in, but it gets mode difficult to water the plant.
Aesthetically the moss is very nice anyway.
As for exposed roots (Neagari Stile) it is not so good with this "S" shaped trunk, so I would skip it with this tree.
Congratulations for keeping it alive! But as said, if you have a place for it outdoors it will be happier.
The following user(s) said Thank You: thetreeman47

Moss and Roots 4 years 10 months ago #50456

• Felidae