Bonsai forum

New to bonsai, looking for some advice to get started from a cutting

• Drizzt321
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

New to bonsai, looking for some advice to get started from a cutting was created by Drizzt321

Posted 3 years 1 month ago #66420
So I'm brand new to bonsai, been wanting to get started with one for a while, and also figure it's best to start with one that'll be more forgiving. Was reading ficus species are generally fairly easy and forgiving, and rather than trying to find/buy/start from seedling, I have some VERY vigorous screen trees which I believe are some sort of ficus in my back patio. What better way to start! They branches need to be trimmed/trained back ever 4-6 weeks or so spring to fall (I live in Southern California, not far from the ocean), although winter time they don't really grow much at all.

So, can anyone point me in the direction of what I'll need to get started? I see the starter kits in the Store, but if I'm trying to propagate from my trees might be overdoing it. I don't see separate pieces individually in the Store, so where might be a good spot to get them? I suspect the Ficus Course and both of the Beginner courses would be where to start, at least in terms of information?
by Drizzt321

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Tropfrog
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1361

Replied by Tropfrog on topic New to bonsai, looking for some advice to get started from a cutting

Posted 3 years 1 month ago #66423
For collecting cuttings you need a pair of secateurs. But I would assume you allready have that.