Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

New to Bonsai - Jaboticaba 2 years 11 months ago #67444

• Tulip
  • Tulip's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
I just received a beautiful, 5-year-old Jaboticaba tree today. It looks bushy. How long do I wait to prune it? I would appreciate some recommendations on books or resources for information and tips about growing bonsai. Are there rules to pruning ala roses? What is a great fertilizer? I'm an experienced gardener, but I've never tried this before and I'm feeling a little overwhelmed.

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New to Bonsai - Jaboticaba 2 years 11 months ago #67447

• Tropfrog
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1326
Always grow a newly purshased tree without any prunning, wiering, styling for at least a full growing season.

You dont prune for the sake of prunning. It is part of a design process. So step one is to identify what your vision for this tree is. That vision will determine which stepsto take after that. You have at least a year to find what the tree wants to be. Take your time, study the tree and buy a bonsai book.

If it were my tree, I would wire the trunk for some movement and plant it in a much bigger pot. Grow it for 3-5 years with a couple of root prunning sessions during that time and start my design planning after that. That is a very thin trunk. Possitive is that it easier to bend, negative is that it takes very long time to get into proportion.

New to Bonsai - Jaboticaba 2 years 11 months ago #67458

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3653
Nice little tree.

Jabuticaba are not always easy to find. I find mine becomes grittle very quickly and I do not wire branches that have gone woody. Instead I wire as theyr grow out.

They seem to heal over wounds well.