Bonsai forum

Beginner oak sapling

• Ooi
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

Beginner oak sapling was created by Ooi

Posted 8 years 2 months ago #19415
Hey! I'm totally new to the bonsai art, but am keen to know more! I was given an oak sapling last spring, which had some roots removed and the top third chopped off before beung planting in a little bit of soil. It lost the two leaves it had (but I assume that's natural winter behaviour) and I now see some buds forming up the stem.
My question is how to proceed? Will the buds eventually form branches? When should u begin wiring? Perhaps I should leave it as it is for another year for it to grow?
I've attached pics if its current state.
Thanks!
by Ooi

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Cronic
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • Thanks received: 33

Replied by Cronic on topic Beginner oak sapling

Posted 8 years 2 months ago #19416
if you are being serious about this..

plant it outside in your garden for 10 years and prepare it for becoming a pre-bonsai
until than, there's nothing else even remotely connected to bonsai you can do with it..

don't keep it inside as it will die.. it's a Oak!
by Cronic

• Ooi
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

Replied by Ooi on topic Beginner oak sapling

Posted 8 years 2 months ago #19417
Thanks for your reply!
I am serious, it was given to me by a gardener friend as a graduation present so has a lot of sentimental value.
I will transfer it outdoors as you suggest. Should I pot it in more soil?
I'm a total beginner, so it would be helpful to work out how to know when the plant is big enough to begin restricting its size?
by Ooi

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

Replied by Auk on topic Beginner oak sapling

Posted 8 years 2 months ago #19418