Bonsai forum

TOPIC:

Moss? 7 years 11 months ago #20268

• PandarenBonsai
  • PandarenBonsai's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Ok so I have recently bought a Chinese Elm and I am pruning it to fit a broom-style look. From my recent trip to China & Japan I bought mini figurines to put on the bonsai but they don't look good on top of soil. I was considering growing moss , will this damage my bonsai? I am a beginner and I don't really want another bonsai to die. Bonsai Empire says moss is beneficial but other forums say otherwise.

Thanks in advance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Moss? 7 years 11 months ago #20271

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

Bonsai Empire says moss is beneficial but other forums say otherwise.

Yep, that's how it is. You will get different opinions.

I do like moss and I believe it is beneficial. It doesn't prevent proper drainage, and it keeps the top of the soil moist, which prevents the surface roots from drying out / getting overheated in the sun.

But again, that's an opinion.

I do NOT like moss on the tree itself.
The following user(s) said Thank You: PandarenBonsai

Moss? 7 years 11 months ago #20279

• Samantha
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 151
Don't let moss grow in your pot, it's just a pretty weed. OK, i let Poke weed grow in my yard, after a few years they get ugly, then i pull them up. Another will pop up next year.

Like any other plant, Moss does take up nutrients, and water. It does offer some benefits, and is appealing to the eye, but like any weed, it can get out of control. Then it will be hard to get rid of.

Moss? 7 years 11 months ago #20281

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member

Like any other plant, Moss does take up nutrients, and water. It does offer some benefits, and is appealing to the eye, but like any weed, it can get out of control. Then it will be hard to get rid of.