Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

First pruning cuts on a 10' Ficus benjamina 7 years 6 months ago #26937

• Kimba
  • Kimba's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 2
I am a bonsai newbie with a variegated Ficus benjamina about 10' and a 2 1/4" trunk diameter. I think it will make a nice bonsai subject. If I want it to be about 18" to 20" tall should I cut the trunk at about 6" above the soil line? I have had this tree for about 20 years and I don't want to lose it. I'm a bit nervous about chopping 9' off this tree, leaving only a trunk - no branches, no leaves!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

First pruning cuts on a 10' Ficus benjamina 7 years 5 months ago #26960

• rtmann
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Thanks received: 9
I can see why you would be nervous...that is a long term investment in a tree. It would be nice to see a picture of the tree from a couple of different angles. I am sure there are those here who can help you with the decision. I hope they reply.

First pruning cuts on a 10' Ficus benjamina 7 years 5 months ago #26966

• Kimba
I'm working on the photos, but having trouble uploading from my phone. That's a subject for a different forum :S

First pruning cuts on a 10' Ficus benjamina 7 years 5 months ago #26974

• Kimba
The trunk has a nice root flare.

]

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Last edit: Post by Kimba. Reason: partial down load

First pruning cuts on a 10' Ficus benjamina 7 years 5 months ago #26981

• BonsaiLearner
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 101
The trunk is fairly straight and has almost no taper, so a trunk chop would make sense. It's your choice, obviously.

First pruning cuts on a 10' Ficus benjamina 7 years 5 months ago #27044

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3654