Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Advice/Recommendations on Redwood Species 6 years 11 months ago #32043

• BHamer
  • BHamer's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
Hi everyone!

I have been keeping a Chinese Elm for a bout 2 years now, but am interested in expanding my collection to include a Redwood bonsai tree. I am not looking to buy anything too old - rather i'd like to buy something about 4-5 years old so I can do some shaping without too much difficulty. I see a lot of Dawn Redwoods for sale online from places like Brussels Bonsai and Bonsai Boy of New York, and various eBay sellers, but I wanted to hear some input from you all before making a purchase. In summary, below are the two questions I would like to hear your answer on.

1. Is the Dawn Redwood a good species of Redwood to buy? Or is there another variety I should consider? I know the Dawn Redwood is native to China (which is fine), but I think it would be cool to have a species native to the western coast of the United States.
2. Where do you recommend buying from? Does anyone have one for sale that fits my description? I have purchased from Brussels in the past and had decent luck, but am unsure about what to expect from them in this variety.

Please let me know, and thank you!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: Post by BHamer.

Advice/Recommendations on Redwood Species 6 years 11 months ago #32045

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

I see a lot of Dawn Redwoods for sale online from places like Brussels Bonsai and Bonsai Boy of New York, and various eBay sellers, but I wanted to hear some input from you all before making a purchase

As Bonsai Boi sells this horrible thing for the insane amount of USD 250,00, I can assure you I would never ever even consider buying anything there.

Looking at these trees I wouldn't order from Brussels Bonsai either:
shop.brusselsbonsai.com/Results.cfm?category=16&secondary=28