Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

?? hello, bonsai empire! ?? 5 years 9 months ago #42034

• e-babe
  • e-babe's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
good morning, afternoon, or evening!
my name is Julie and I am new to the art of bonsai.
first off, I am a relatively solitary person. however, I feel that I may benefit from participating
in a positive community revolving around my craft, and I decided that this is going to be the day that I do so.

I have basic knowledge of botany (having taken two courses) and intermediate experience in gardening.
in the future, I would like to earn a degree in botany and zoology. right now, I have ample time to
learn from this inspiring discipline. (I am nineteen and still in high school, rest in peace me)

I have always had an inclination to nature, and a fascination for the diversity of plant life.
perhaps the most interesting specimens to me were trees, each with their own phases and life spans.
I love all varieties of trees and have no shortage of material to work with in my area, whether my method being by seed or cutting.

in addition, I am an artist of many mediums, including sketching and pottery. I also have a great fondness
for miniatures, no matter what the subject may be.

these interests seem, to me, a perfect combination. bonsai was always something I have
wanted to partake in, yet I could not find the courage nor patience to even begin.
now, I have the confidence.

already, I have invested my time in books and forums pertaining to horticulture and bonsai. while it feels like a
good start, it is not nearly as effective as being part of a community would be.
I have many questions, and I'm sure that this is the answer.

my melodrama and poetry aside, I would love to meet you all and hear your stories!
consider me a neighbor, not an opponent. let us share wisdom and experience, as this is an oasis of knowledge
for travellers originating from places near and far.