Bonsai forum

Newbie Worries

• PickettBowtruckle
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

Newbie Worries was created by PickettBowtruckle

Posted 5 years 8 months ago #43321
Hi there! B)
I am new with bonsai, I\ve read some about it but today I bought my first tree. Its a ficus ginseng. Now, I have several ideas in my head, but I would like to make the root look a bit like it has two arms and two legs. Possible? Idk, I am a newbie lol. I probably have to read about wiring etc.

My question for you is, what techniques could I use? And, how fast do these fellas grow? How long does it take to heal wounds? Where can I buy Japanese Wound Paste?

Pickett
by PickettBowtruckle

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• PickettBowtruckle
  • Offline Topic Author

Replied by PickettBowtruckle on topic Newbie Worries

Posted 5 years 8 months ago #43326
A picture could be good help... here is Pickett (yes, I gave it a name) :cheer:
It is young, i think. If so, should it be outside?
by PickettBowtruckle

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

• GreenHands420

Replied by GreenHands420 on topic Newbie Worries

Posted 5 years 8 months ago #43327
You may keep the ficus inside if you wish, it is a tropical plant therefore it can survive inside. I have a ficus currently inside that sits near the window with filtered light. Growing pretty amazing actually so if you want it as an indoor bonsai go for it. If you decide to keep it outside just make sure to protect it from the frost, depending on where you live you may or may not need to worry.
Last Edit:5 years 8 months ago by GreenHands420
Last edit: 5 years 8 months ago by GreenHands420.

• GreenHands420

Replied by GreenHands420 on topic Newbie Worries

Posted 5 years 8 months ago #43328